Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Directors: David Yates 
Writers: Steve Kloves
Based on a novel by: J.K. Rowling
Producers: David Heyman/David Barron 
Starring: Daniel Radcliffe/Rupert Grint/Emma Watson/Michael Gambon/Alan Rickman/Helena Bonham Carter
Year: 2009
Country: UK/US
BBFC Certification:
12
Duration: 153 minutes

Harry Potter returns for his sixth year at Hogwarts along with his best friends Ron and Hermione. This year, a new Potions Master, Professor Slughorn, teaches at Hogwarts. When Harry goes to one of Slughorn’s classes, he finds an old battered Potions textbook with scribbles all over it which, in the end, turns out useful to him. This book belongs to, drumroll please, the Half-Blood Prince. While Harry is fixated with the book, he must find out who the Half-Blood Prince is. The Half-Blood Prince has been much anticipated since November (it’s real release date before it was cancelled for July). So Harry Potter fans, like me, have been waiting for eight months for the release of this movie, watching the brilliant trailers, hoping the movie was going to be the same quality. Ladies and Gentlemen, I can tell you that the movie is just brilliant. OK, I promised myself I wouldn’t be one-sided in this review because I am a massive Harry Potter fan and I won’t. But even so, no-one can deny that this movie was just great.

The special effects were jaw-droppingly realistic and you could tell so much detail went into it. The best part to prove this was Quidditch and the cave Dumbledore and Harry went in. I’ve seen behind-the-scenes of this movie and saw that every little bit of that cave wasn’t real, it was all entirely special effects and to me, that scene was amazingly real so good work to all the people who done the special effects. The story itself followed the book but it also went in it’s own direction which worked very well such as the Burrow being attacked. Daniel Radcliffe gave a very good performance but the actresses that outshined everyone, to me, was Helena Bonham Carter and Emma Watson. In my opinion, she played the jealous Hermione Granger fantastically. Her performance made me believe her jealousy and bitterness toward the person she loves. Rupert Grint, who plays the zero-to-hero Ron Weasley, made me laugh in some places of the movie and Michael Gambon who plays the greatest wizard of all-time, Albus Dumbledore, gave a terrific performance. Helena Bonham Carter, who plays baddie Bellatrix Lestrange, was just brilliant in the movie. I couldn’t fault anyone’s acting really (except for Daniel Radcliffe when he took the Felix Felicis).

Non-Potter fans will be asking questions about some parts of the movie that only fans will know but even so, the questions are obvious and will either be answered in this movie or the next. I can’t really pick a fault with this movie. However, I will say that, in my opinion, I thought that the ending was a little rushed and it felt like it was over in a split second. In the books, there was more to the ending but there wasn’t a lot in the movie but even so, the rushed ending would not spoil this marvellous movie for you. I must say bravo to Director David Yates and all of the cast and crew for making a movie that was fantastically dark which was the mood of the book. I can guarantee you that this beats any movie that’s out now and is the best summer blockbuster of 2009! Potter fans and non-Potter fans will not be disappointed, I promise you that.

8/10

Leave a Reply

