Star Trek [2009]


Director: J.J. Abrams
Writers: Roberto Orci/Alex Kurtzman/Gene Roddenberry
Producers: J.J. Abrams/Damon Lindelof 
Starring: Chris Pine/Zachary Quinto/Leonard Nimoy/Zoe Saldana/Simon Pegg
Year: 2009
Country: US
BBFC Certification: 12
Duration: 127 minutes

The greatest adventure of all time begins with “Star Trek,” the incredible story of a young crew’s maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evil being whose mission of vengeance threatens all of mankind. The fate of the galaxy rests in the hands of bitter rivals. One, James T. Kirk, is a delinquent, thrill-seeking Iowa farm boy. The other, Spock, was raised in a logic-based society that rejects all emotion. As fiery instinct clashes with calm reason, their unlikely but powerful partnership is the only thing capable of leading their crew through unimaginable danger, boldly going where no one has gone before!

It’s Star Trek, Jim, but not as we know it!

Before I review this movie, I feel that I need to tell you that I am not a fan of the series or the previous movies. I’ve seen some episodes of Star Trek and I have seen the movie Star Trek: Nemesis and I didn’t like them at all. But I really enjoyed this movie. The story was great and easy to follow so anybody could sit down and watch it, which was what I was afraid of since I don’t know anything about the Trek universe. The acting was superb, especially from Zachary Quinto as Spock and Chris Pine as James T. Kirk. I also thought that Simon Pegg gave out a brilliant performance as Scotty and added a little humour to the movie. The characters were well done and the actors made you believe the characters they were playing. The direction was brilliant and the scenes were fantastically executed, the writing was very good as well.

J.J Abrams has had a challenge on his hands, he has had to make a movie that would keep hardcore Star Trek fans happy and non-fans entertained. I can tell you today that fans and non-fans will simply love this movie. I wouldn’t have ever thought I’d like a Star Trek film considering I didn’t like the television shows or the movies but I did like this. If all the movies were like this, I’d have probably become a fan. It had almost everything in it: smart writing, great performances, brilliant action sequences, nice visuals, good characters and strong character development. J.J Abrams has made a great sci-fi movie to be remembered. Not only has he successfully rebooted a classic franchise and brought back Star Trek but he’s also given it fast-paced action scenes, breath-taking special effects and a brilliant story that a non-fan could easily follow which was my main worry. This is a movie anyone could watch whether it be because you like Star Trek or because you like fast-paced action movies.

I would advise anyone who likes a good storyline, likes action movies or likes a good sci-fi movie to see this! You will regret it if you don’t.

8/10
JJ Abrams has done a magnificent job in rebooting a classic franchised loved everywhere and I’m sure I’m not the only one who can’t wait for a sequel!

3 responses to “Star Trek [2009]

  1. Pingback: Star Trek [2009] « DudeDazz's Movie Reviews | filmworkz.us

  2. Ryuk April 14, 2010 at 7:47 am

    I have to disagree to a certern point if a serious star trek fan watched this movie they would seriously need to watch it from a fresh prosecptive, if they tried to compare it to the original series and the others, they’ll be disapointed and very confused.

    but saying that if you do have that fresh prospective like you needed watching enterprise, then you’d enjoy it, just keep that in mind.

    • dudedazz April 14, 2010 at 10:34 am

      If I’m honest, I’m not a fan of Star Trek so as you said, this review is from a fresh prospective. I’ll keep in mind to watch Enterprise though. Also, keep in mind that it’s supposed to be a prequel…if that would mean anything to a fan. Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

