The Dark Knight


Director: Christopher Nolan
Writers: Christopher Nolan/Jonathan Nolan
Producers: Christopher Nolan/Charles Roven/Emma Thomas 
Starring: Christian Bale/Heath Ledger/Michael Caine/Morgan Freeman
Year: 2008
Country: US
BBFC Certification: 12
Duration: 152 minutes

“The Dark Knight” takes Batman across the world in his quest to fight a growing criminal threat. With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent, Batman has been making headway against local crime…until a rising criminal mastermind known as The Joker unleashes a fresh reign of chaos across Gotham City. To stop this devious new menace-Batman’s most personal and vicious enemy yet-he will have to use every high-tech weapon in his arsenal and confront everything he believes.

“Let’s put a smile on that face!”

Looking on IMDb the other day, I saw The Dark Knight at tenth place in the Top 250 movies of all-time voted by IMDb users and I was literally shocked. I simply had to check it out and see what was special about it and find out if it deserves being in the top ten. The story was very good and the script was beautifully written with some memorable quotes, one of the quotes now becoming my favourite. The characters were okay, you felt how you were supposed to feel about them and the acting was magnificent, I thought Heath Ledger stole the entire movie with his fantastic performance as The Joker. Christian Bale as Bruce Wayne was brilliant but when he was Batman and he started to talk, all I wanted to do was give him a lozenge. The scenes in the movie were executed brilliantly and the cinematography was great as well. The direction in the movie was well done and you could clearly see the vision the director wanted.

I’m not much of a Batman fan really, the only Batman movies I watch and adore are the ones made by Tim Burton, Danny DeVito as The Penguin and Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman was fantastic to watch, and since them movies, I lost interest in Batman. I had seen Batman Begins and I thought it was mediocre. I had seen the trailer for The Dark Knight and it didn’t impress me, in fact the only thing that caught my attention was The Joker. It wasn’t until IMDb that I actually remembered that I hadn’t seen the movie so I watched it last night. I’m kind of half-and-half with it because, even though it was brilliantly made, I found some of the scenes to be a little bit tedious. Don’t get me wrong, I did like the movie but I didn’t love it like most people do out there. I loved the twists and turns in the story and I liked the battle of wits Batman and The Joker had almost all through the movie. The action scenes were executed great but the pain in the butt was when Batman started to talk, you couldn’t hear much of what he was saying because he put on a growling voice which made me want to give him a lozenge or a drink of water. The acting was fantastic but the most memorable person in the movie by far is The Joker with his fantastic one-liners, which I’m certain, will be used by people for years to come.

Should this have been voted at tenth place over classics such as Casablanca and Raging Bull? I don’t think so. Is the movie great? Yeah, without a doubt. It’s definitely better than Batman Begins but Tim Burton’s Batman or Batman Returns will always be my favourite. This has probably restored my faith in the Batman movies, let’s just hope the next Batman movie is the same quality or can even raise the bar a little.

8/10
I liked it very much but I don’t love it and it’s certainly not the best movie but I have to say, I think the next superhero movie will have its work cut out because The Dark Knight is certainly the best superhero movie I’ve seen lately.

2 responses to “The Dark Knight

  1. Pingback: The Dark Knight « DudeDazz's Movie Reviews Quote Me

  2. Pingback: The Golden D Awards 2010 « Blueprint: Review

Leave a Reply

