Let The Right One In

let_the_right_one_in_poster 
Director: Tomas Alfredson 
Writer: John Ajvide Lindqvist
Based on the Novel by: John Ajvide Lindqvist
Producers: Carl Molinder/John Nordling
Starring: Kåre Hedebrant/Lina Leandersson/Per Ragnar
Year: 2009
Country: Sweden 
BBFC Certification: 15
Duration: 114 minutes

Oskar is a 12-year-old outcast who is frequently picked on by his classmates. He dreams of getting his revenge, but he never stands up to the boys. With the arrival of his new next-door neighbour, 12-year-old Eli, Oskar may finally have found a friend, ally, and first love. But Eli is no ordinary girl: she must keep her pale skin out of the sunlight, she can perform inhuman physical feats, and she has thirst for blood. The bodies begin to pile up, but Oskar can’t stay away from the girl who has finally given him courage.

A beautifully-written horror love story.

Let The Right One In has had so many positive reviews and hardly any negative reviews which got me wondering if it really deserved all the positive reviews it’s been getting so I decided to watch it and judge for myself. I have to say that it deserves every little bit of praise it gets because it is simply a phenomenal movie. The story is beautifully written and really draws you into the movie. Even though it’s a horror movie, the story is a violent yet beautiful and emotional one and there aren’t many movies that has a story like that and there’s not a lot that do it so well. The characters were fantastic as you really cared for Oskar and Eli and what happened to them. The acting was brilliant, I think that Kåre Hedebrant and Lina Leandersson were both fantastic as their characters and they really brought out the emotions from their characters. The writing was simply fantastic as the script and the storytelling was great and the timing was near perfect for each scene. The direction is great and really captures the human emotions and relationships and how much we need them.

This movie really spoke to me more than I thought it would. It really gave out a nice feeling that nobody is really alone in the world and that there is somebody out there for everyone. This is possibly the best vampire movie I have ever seen. The relationship between Oskar and Eli was beautiful and very intriguing to watch and I thought that Oskar grew emotionally and mentally with Eli, as he became more confident as time went on. Their relationship is the highlight of the movie for me and it really stuck out in my mind about friendship, love and loyalty. I really don’t think I can do this movie justice with this review but all I can say is it’s just simply beautiful and breathtaking and I urge every movie lover to watch this. Everything about the movie was near to perfection and this has on my list of all-time favourite movies and I could easily watch it again straight after.

10/10
Absolutely beautiful and fantastically written masterpiece, I suggest everybody should watch Let The Right One In as it really is a gem. Also, if you watch it, watch it with English subtitles as watching it in dubbed English spoils the movie a little.

3 responses to “Let The Right One In

  1. Pingback: Let The Right One In « DudeDazz's Movie Reviews | filmworkz.us

  2. Joe July 22, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Good to see a foreign film getting some coverage. Not so sure I’d give it a “10” but its definatly one of the better movies in this genre.

    • Dazz July 24, 2010 at 9:37 pm

      I gave it a ten because it felt like a lot of time and effort and thought had gone into this movie and the movie really shows it. I couldn’t think of anything wrong when watching the movie (I’m not saying it’s perfect but it’s close to being perfect). For me, watching this movie was a different experience to watching your average vampire movie you see today.

      Thank you for commenting Joe!

Leave a Reply

