Star Trek: The Motion Picture

3316011679_b3f456290cDirector: Robert Wise 
Writer: Alan Dean Foster 
Producers: Gene Roddenberry 
Starring: William Shatner/Leonard Nimoy/George Takei 
Year: 1979
Country: US
BBFC Certification: PG
Duration: 132 minutes

Before I start this review, I have to say that I hardly know anything about Star Trek and so this review is from somebody who, not only knows anything about the series or movies, but also isn’t a fan of Star Trek. Over the course of two months, I have been watching the Star Trek movies and every week, I will be posting a review. A friend of mine suggested I give the movies a chance after watching an episode or two of Star Trek and not liking it much. However, I did like the new movie that was released in 2009 and so I decided to give them a chance. Starting from where the movie series began, here is the review of Star Trek: The Motion Picture.

After three seasons of the television series being shown, the original series of Star Trek was cancelled due to viewer ratings. Skip a few years later after the cancellation, Star Trek creator Gene Roddenberry decided to try and revive the series by making a movie known as Star Trek: The Motion Picture. Unfortunately, the movie isn’t friendly for newcomers such as myself and was made for fans. The Motion Picture is about Kirk and his crew reuniting on the U.S.S Enterprise, which is a starship used in the movie, to save earth from a powerful machine that destroys everything in its way as it tries to search for its creator. Having watched this for almost two and a half hours, all I can say is that it was completely boring and incredibly slow. Hardly anything interesting in the movie happened and there was nothing memorable in the movie at all. The story didn’t hardly have anything to it, in fact, there’s actually hardly any story to begin with. The plot was confusing and hardly explained anything about what was happening and the things that were happening were just tedious and uninteresting.

If you thought the story was bad, wait until you hear about the cast, they were given nothing to do at all. All of the actors in the movie did nothing but talk. Now, it’s not deemed as a bad thing for a movie to be driven by dialogue and nothing else but when you don’t have an idea what they’re talking about half of the time, that’s when it is deemed as a bad thing. However, as I have said before, this is more for the fans than newcomers. The movie is bad for several reasons but one of the main reasons, alongside it not being friendly, is the acting. None of them were convincing at all and they all looked terribly bored out of their minds. I will admit that, at first, I was going to say that Leonard Nimoy as Spock is the worst actor out of the cast for not portraying any emotion as Spock but then a friend told me that Spock’s race show no emotion so I let that one go. However, the cast looked bored and they were boring to watch, there’s not one actor in this movie that stood out in my mind, they were all the same. The only thing I can credit the movie for is its special effects, they weren’t too bad but I’ve seen better from movies in its time.

So this is the first of ten movies (not counting Star Trek 2009) and I must say, this isn’t winning any new fans. This isn’t a great way to kick off the movie series and it’s certainly not a great movie. Has this won me over? No, in fact, this movie has done the complete opposite as it has actually put me off watching the movies for a couple of days but I heard the second movie was much better so I decided to carry on my quest of watching all of the movies. Would I watch this again? I think I can safely say that it’s not going to happen…ever. Star Trek fans will probably love this movie but for newcomers to the series, it’s best you brush up on the Trek facts first.

2/10

Leave a Reply

